About Us

Cybertip.ca’s 15th Anniversary

For the past 15 years, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) has operated Cybertip.ca – Canada’s tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children. As an independent, charitable, non-governmental agency, the Canadian Centre has played a unique and critical role in this space by offering a national clearinghouse for triaging potentially illegal reports as well as providing Canadians with resources to reduce child victimization on the Internet.

Cybertip.ca’s 15th Anniversary Report highlights Canadians’ use of the tipline’s service, our results and successes, the evolution of the tipline over the years, our commitment to innovation and what we have learned over the years. Cybertip.ca is steadfast in its pledge to be an instrument of change and a catalyst for collaboration between the public, private and non-profit sectors recognizing the critical need for all stakeholders to work together to get ahead of this very serious issue impacting our youngest and most vulnerable children.

The role of technology in facilitating sexual offences against children has significantly evolved over the years, as has our understanding of sexual offending behaviour and the manifestation of these activities on the Internet. We know that more needs to be done to identify and support child victims of sexual abuse, identify offenders, and reduce the availability of child sexual abuse material.

Child sexual abuse and the recording of the abuse is a significant problem in our society

Project Arachnid is currently discovering approximately 80,000 unique images per month that require analyst assessment and this number has been steadily increasing each month by 5% to 18%. Analyst assessment is triggered when Project Arachnid comes across a webpage with images that are suspect in nature. Other images on the page are also reviewed as they are likely to involve child sexual exploitation.

It is critical to recognize when technology should be leveraged versus when human assessment is required

The use of cryptographic hashes immensely aids in the detection of child sexual abuse material that has been previously assessed by analysts within the tipline. It not only allows us to reduce the exposure of analysts to very difficult material, but also provides the tipline the opportunity to minimize the harm and re-victimization of the child displayed in the material by reducing the continued viewing of that material.

Public education is essential if we are to significantly reduce child sexual abuse and exploitation

Efforts must be focused on preventing child sexual abuse from occurring in the first place so offenders’ opportunities to record and share the abusive material with others is limited. For this to occur, adults around children need to be educated about how to recognize inappropriate behaviour and recognize situations that present risk if we are to reduce and intervene where warranted to disrupt the abuse process.

After 15 years of operating Cybertip.ca, the tipline is well positioned to work with government, police and industry, leverage stakeholders’ unique assets and make a real and lasting difference for the protection of children. In spite of the significant progress made over the years, it is clear that we must all strengthen our commitment to fight the exploitation and sexual abuse of children as they deserve nothing less.

Qui nous sommes

15e anniversaire de Cyberaide.ca

Depuis 15 ans, le Centre canadien de la protection de l’enfance (CCPE) administre Cyberaide.ca. En sa qualité d’organisation non gouvernementale, caritative et indépendante, le CCPE joue un rôle unique et important dans ce domaine en offrant aux Canadiens un centre national de triage des signalements d’activités potentiellement illégales ainsi que des ressources pour réduire la violence faite aux enfants sur Internet.

À l’occasion du 15e anniversaire de Cyberaide.ca, le présent rapport fait état de l’utilisation de nos services par les Canadiens, de nos résultats et de nos réussites, de l’évolution du programme au fil des ans, de notre souci d’innover et de ce que nous avons appris durant tout ce temps. Cyberaide.ca veut être un agent de changement et un vecteur de collaboration entre les pouvoirs publics, le secteur privé et les organismes à but non lucratif, car il est essentiel que tous les acteurs unissent leurs forces pour venir à bout de ce grave fléau qui affecte nos enfants les plus jeunes et les plus vulnérables.

Beaucoup de choses ont changé au fil des ans dans la façon dont les délinquants pédosexuels se servent des technologies pour parvenir à leurs fins, et nous avons beaucoup appris sur leurs comportements délinquants et la manifestation de leurs activités sur Internet. Il faut faire plus d’efforts pour identifier et soutenir les victimes d’abus pédosexuels, identifier les abuseurs et réduire la disponibilité de ce matériel.

Les abus pédosexuels et l’enregistrement de ces abus sont un grave problème dans notre société.

Projet Arachnid découvre en ce moment quelque 80 000 images différentes par mois; ces images doivent être expertisées par un analyste et leur nombre continue d’augmenter de l’ordre de 5 à 18 % par mois. Les analystes sont appelés à procéder à ces expertises lorsque Projet Arachnid passe sur des pages contenant des images suspectes. Ils expertisent aussi d’autres images figurant sur ces pages puisqu’elles sont susceptibles de présenter elles aussi des scènes d’exploitation d’enfants.

Il est essentiel de savoir quand recourir aux technologies et quand l’intervention humaine est nécessaire.

L’utilisation d’empreintes cryptographiques facilite considérablement l’identification des images d’abus pédosexuels déjà expertisées par les analystes de Cyberaide.ca. Elle permet non seulement de réduire l’exposition des analystes à des scènes particulièrement éprouvantes, mais aussi de réduire au minimum la revictimisation enfants mis en scène dans les images et le préjudice qui leur est causé, en limitant le nombre de fois où ces images sont vues.

Pour lutter efficacement contre les cas d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels d’enfants, il faut éduquer le public.

Il faut agir en amont pour prévenir la commission d’abus pédosexuels, de façon à limiter les possibilités pour les délinquants de prendre des images de tels abus et de les diffuser. Pour cela, il faut que les adultes présents dans l’entourage des enfants apprennent à reconnaître les comportements inappropriés et les situations de risque, car c’est ainsi que l’on pourra réduire les abus et intervenir s’il y a lieu pour désamorcer le processus d’abus.

Après 15 années d’activité, Cyberaide.ca est bien placée pour travailler avec les pouvoirs publics, les forces policières et le secteur privé, mobiliser les atouts respectifs de tous les acteurs et avoir un impact tangible et durable sur la protection des enfants. Malgré les progrès significatifs réalisés au cours des années, il ne fait aucun doute que nous devons tous redoubler d’ardeur pour combattre l’exploitation et les abus pédosexuels, car les enfants ne méritent rien de moins.