Canadian Centre for Child Protection calls on technology companies to do more to reduce child sexual abuse material online

Through Project Arachnid, the Canadian Centre is committed to fighting this global social epidemic

July 11, 2019
For Immediate Release

Winnipeg, MB: Every 12 hours the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) is detecting 10,824 new images of child sexual abuse online through their ground-breaking web crawler and platform, Project Arachnid. In light of the growing online availability of child sexual abuse imagery, the Canadian Centre is calling on industry to take action against this global, social epidemic.

The Canadian Centre-run Cybertip.ca, Canada’s tipline for addressing the online sexual abuse and exploitation of children, has moved from managing 4,000 reports from the public per month to more than 160,000 via Project Arachnid. Since the Canadian Centre launched Project Arachnid over two and a half years ago, the platform has detected over nine million suspected images of child sexual abuse and issued close to four million removal notices to content providers across the globe.

Currently, the removal of child sexual abuse images has mostly been left to the discretion of industry; businesses that intersect with user-generated content online, which include both small and large technology companies. Through Project Arachnid, the Canadian Centre is seeing varying levels of commitment from industry. While some may be doing cutting-edge proactive detection and removing material immediately, others rely on their users to report abuse and enter into debates about what constitutes child sexual abuse images, or simply ignore requests to remove the material altogether. This lack of continuity and accountably has meant thousands of child sexual abuse images and videos are being left up, leading to the continued victimization of the children whose sexual abuse has been recorded and distributed on the internet.

The Canadian Centre is committed to addressing this global social epidemic through Project Arachnid, and is encouraging technology companies to become an ally by using Shield by Project Arachnid, an API which industry can use to quickly detect known child sexual abuse images on their own service rather than waiting for notices from Project Arachnid. Further collaboration between technology companies, government, and child protection hotlines is the much needed course of action for expeditiously removing child sexual abuse material and ensuring the prioritization of the protection and rights of children.

As a jarring visual representation of the amount of child sexual abuse imagery Project Arachnid is detecting every 12 hours, the Canadian Centre developed Lolli, The Exhibit Nobody Wants to Talk About. Lollipops, a term child sex offenders use for their victims, are at the centre of the exhibit, standing in as proxies for this horrendous material. The installation, located at Stackt Market in Toronto, will be open to the public (age 18+) July 12–14 from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m. Visitors are encouraged to raise awareness of the issue using #LollipopTakedown.

Quotes:

“Current practices to tackle the removal of child sexual abuse images are not working — more needs to be done by industry to detect and expeditiously remove child sexual abuse images. The overwhelming pace at which technology has progressed, along with the enormity of this problem, has resulted in a failure to properly safeguard children on the internet.”
Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection.
“The availability of child sexual abuse material online re-victimizes survivors. We have a moral obligation to do more to ensure the protection and rights of child victims are prioritized, ending the continuous cycle of abuse.”
Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection.

-30-

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety of children. Our goal is to reduce the sexual abuse and exploitation of children, assist in the location of missing children, and to prevent child victimization. The Canadian Centre operates Cybertip.ca — Canada’s tipline for reporting child sexual abuse and exploitation on the internet, as well as other intervention, prevention and education services to the Canadian public.

Media contact:
Jessica Hoffeldt
No Fixed Address on behalf of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection
jessica.hoffeldt@nofixedaddressinc.com
647-269-7438

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance appelle les entreprises de technologie à en faire davantage pour réduire l’accessibilité aux images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet

Avec le Projet Arachnid, le CCPE est déterminé à combattre cette épidémie sociale mondiale.

11 juillet 2019
Pour publication immédiate

Winnipeg (Manitoba) – Toutes les 12 heures, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) détecte 10 824 nouvelles images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet avec Projet Arachnid, son robot d’exploration et sa plateforme révolutionnaires. Devant l’accessibilité grandissante des images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet, le CCPE appelle les entreprises à agir contre cette épidémie sociale mondiale.

Le CCPE gère Cyberaide.ca, la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels d’enfants sur Internet. Cyberaide.ca est passée de 4 000 signalements par mois venant du public à plus de 160 000 avec Projet Arachnid. Depuis que le CCPE l’a lancée il y a plus de deux ans et demi, la plateforme Projet Arachnid a détecté plus de neuf millions d’images potentiellement associées à des abus pédosexuels et envoyé près de quatre millions de demandes de retrait à des fournisseurs de contenu dans le monde entier.

À ce jour, la suppression des images d’abus pédosexuels a été laissée en grande partie à la discrétion du secteur privé, à savoir les petites et grandes entreprises qui hébergent les contenus générés par les internautes. Dans le cadre du Projet Arachnid, le CCPE observe des degrés d’engagement variables de la part des entreprises. Pendant que certaines utilisent des moyens de détection proactive sophistiqués pour retirer les images d’abus pédosexuels, d’autres laissent à leurs utilisateurs le soin de leur signaler ces images et débattent à savoir s’il s’agit bien d’images d’abus pédosexuels, et d’autres encore ignorent les demandes qui leur sont faites de retirer ces images. Ce manque de suivi et de responsabilisation fait en sorte que des milliers de photos et de vidéos d’abus pédosexuels restent en ligne et conduisent à la revictimisation d’enfants ayant subi des abus sexuels avec prise d’images et diffusion sur Internet.

Le CCPE est déterminé à lutter contre cette épidémie sociale mondiale à travers le Projet Arachnid et invite les entreprises de technologie à faire cause commune et à utiliser Shield par Projet Arachnid, une API qui leur permettra de détecter rapidement les images d’abus pédosexuels connues sur leurs serveurs au lieu d’attendre les demandes de retrait venant du Projet Arachnid. L’heure est à une collaboration plus étroite entre les entreprises de technologie, les pouvoirs publics et les centrales de signalement; c’est la marche à suivre pour accélérer le retrait des images d’abus pédosexuels et élever la protection et les droits des enfants au premier rang des priorités.

Pour illustrer de façon bouleversante la quantité d’images d’abus pédosexuels détectées toutes les 12 heures par Projet Arachnid, le CCPE présente Lolli, l’exposition dont personne n’a envie de parler, où des sucettes se substituent à ces horribles images. C’est en effet par le mot anglais lollipop (sucette) que les délinquants pédosexuels désignent leurs victimes. L’installation, située au Stackt Market à Toronto, sera ouverte au public (18 ans et plus) du 12 au 14 juillet, de 12 h à 19 h. Les visiteurs sont encouragés à parler du problème en utilisant le mot-clic #OpérationLollipop.

Citations :

« Les pratiques actuelles visant à retirer les images d’abus pédosexuels ne fonctionnent pas; les entreprises doivent faire davantage pour détecter et retirer rapidement ces images. L’évolution ultra rapide des technologies ainsi que l’ampleur du fléau ont entraîné une incapacité de protéger adéquatement les enfants sur Internet. »
Lianna McDonald, directrice générale, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance.
« L’accessibilité aux images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet entraîne une revictimisation des survivantes et survivants. Nous avons l’obligation morale de faire davantage pour élever la protection et les droits des enfants au premier rang des priorités et mettre fin au cycle des abus. »
Lianna McDonald, directrice générale, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance.

-30-

Un mot sur le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance est un organisme de bienfaisance national voué à la sécurité et à la protection des enfants. Il a pour objectif de réduire l’exploitation et les abus sexuels d’enfants, d’aider à retrouver les enfants disparus et de prévenir la violence faite aux enfants. Le Centre gère Cyberaide.ca — la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels d’enfants sur Internet — ainsi que d’autres services de prévention et d’intervention destinés à la population canadienne.

Contact médias
Jessica Hoffeldt
No Fixed Address au nom du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance
jessica.hoffeldt@nofixedaddressinc.com
647 269-7438